Posted in depression, Mental Health

How To Feel Better When You Are Depressed

“Hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny…”
~ C.S. Lewis

You’re at work staring at a computer screen willing yourself to care about your job.  Trying your best to make small talk with coworkers.  Generally feeling like a total fake and exhausted from the effort it takes pretending to be ok.  Have you ever felt that way?

If so, read on…

I’ve spent my fair share of time secretly crying in my car, or office, or pretty much anywhere I could be alone.  I would then wipe my eyes, slap a smile on my face and proceed with my day.  But it was excruciating… I was so empty, so sad, and so tired of pretending.strong

But does it really have to be this way?  In all honesty, it doesn’t.  I know that even getting out of bed sometimes feels like an Olympic event, but if you took just a tiny bit of the energy you spent pretending to be ok and put it into doing one or two of the following things you might just be surprised:

  1. Write it down – not only will you be venting your problems onto a piece of paper, you might also start to see a pattern.
  2. Listen to music – enough said!
  3. Get physical – go for a walk.. heck, listen to music while you walk (two birds, one stone).
  4. Cuddle with your cat – Or your friend’s dog.  Pets are therapeutic… cat videos are a good substitute if you can’t get your hands on an actual pet.
  5. Talk to someone – even if it’s not professional help.
  6. Positive thoughts – what I like to do is download a ton of positive quotes (images) off Google.  When I feel down I go back through them.

That’s it!  Six small suggestions.  All I’m asking is that you give it a try.

know-the-darkness

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

2 thoughts on “How To Feel Better When You Are Depressed

Leave a Reply

