Posted in Books

Think And Grow Rich

Most great people have attained their greatest success just one step beyond their greatest failure.
-Napoleon Hill

I’m always looking for motivational and inspirational books.  I need them because they help me see that my life has potential.  Sometimes, in my depression, I get trapped in the way I think and see life.  I feel lost.  I feel like my life is pointless.

Books seem to be one of the only things that help me find my way out and so I’m always on the hunt for those that motivate me in new ways.  The ones that change my perception and challenge my ideas.

Over 20 Million Copies Sold

Get your copy here!

Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill is one such book.  It was written in 1937 during the Great Depression – commissioned by Andrew Carnegie.  Napoleon Hill spent the better part of 20 years interviewing over 500 people.  Both those who succeeded (Ford, Woolworth, Rockefeller, etc.) and those who didn’t.

Batshit Crazy

Now I’m not going to lie.  Some parts of this book are a little bit out there (aka batshit crazy), but a lot of the principles are pretty sound.

-Lack of decision causes failure.

-People who have no desire of their own are heavily influenced by others and therefore are not likely to succeed.

-General education does NOT correlate with wealth – specialized knowledge (or access to it) does.

-Create a strategy and start taking action.

Who Would Like This Book

I don’t own my own business.  I’m not an entrepreneur.  But regardless, I really enjoyed this book and thought it had a lot of great insights that I’ve applied to my every day life.

Whether you DO own your own business or just want to be more productive and feel a little more motivated.. this book is applicable to many different situations and suited for a variety of readers.

Enjoy!

 

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

3 thoughts on “Think And Grow Rich

  1. Thankyou for this recommendation, Michelle. 🙂
    Haha if you like ‘out there’, have you heard of Bertrand Russell’s 1930 book “The Conquest of Happiness”?
    I read it a few years back and it was (mostly) an illuminating read.
    Well worth looking up, anyway [!]

    Like

Leave a Reply

