Posted in depression, Mental Health

Niacin for Depression: Week 1 Progress (day 3,4,5)

Oh MY GODDD!  My face is on fire!

I knew that there would be “flushing” involved.  But I had NO idea it would feel like I stuck my head in an oven…

To be fair.  You are supposed to take Niacin with food and I popped my pill BEFORE lunch.  Now I’m hiding in my office hoping my co-workers won’t see me cause.. really.. I’m sure there’s smoke coming from this room.

I feel like Nicholas Cage in “Ghost Rider”..

animated-ghost-rider

I guess hiding in my office didn’t work.  One of my coworkers came in to borrow a file and asked me what I did at the gym over my lunch.. um… I didn’t go.

*blank confused look*
“But your face….?”

DAY 2

I’ve decided to half the pill.  The side effects (flushing) are a bit intense.  My skin feels as though it’s been sunburnt and I get chills after a flush… which are probably made worse because I live in Canada and it’s been -25 Celsius the last few days.

Mid-day and I’ve taken about 750mg.. no sign of that low-grade depression dissipating.   In fact, to be honest, I feel a bit more irritable as a result of the side effects.  I hope they subside soon..

DAY 3,4,5

I’ve been avoiding this update.. mainly because I haven’t really made much progress.  To be quite honest, it’s not entirely my fault.  I spent day 3 and 4 in bed with an awful flu.  I didn’t eat for 2 days and nothing, not even water, would stay in my stomach.  So needless to say there was NO way I was taking Niacin.  Flushing on top of hot flashes would have driven me over the edge (of the bed.. to the puke bucket I had there).
Tomorrow… I’ll try again.

***If you haven’t read my original post.  Please check it out!***

Niacin For Depression… Say WHAT?

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

7 thoughts on “Niacin for Depression: Week 1 Progress (day 3,4,5)

      1. I was taking it for depression but stopped because I would always get flushed. I just take the amount that comes in my b complex vitamin now. 🙂 Are you noticing any differences?

        Like

      2. I can’t say that I feel any different right now… I’m guessing I might have to up my dose a bit but I’m trying to deal with the flushing and get accustomed to the pills so that it isn’t so bad before I increase the dose.
        At the moment, the flushing is annoying me more than anything else.. and gets me a bit cranky. LOL. I don’t like the feeling of it, to be honest.. but it’s supposed to subside as your body adjusts to it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

