Posted in depression, Mental Health, Physical Fitness

Food For The Brain: Mental Health And Nutrition

“The doctor of the future will no longer treat the human frame with drugs, but rather will cure and prevent disease with nutrition.”  ~Thomas Edison

You’ve all heard it before…  You are what you eat.  But unfortunately, in today’s modern world, what we eat is becoming further and further from actual food product.  Packaged, canned, bagged.. artificial flavors, fillers and sweeteners.. As a results, our consumption of sugar per person, per year has gone from 90lbs in the early 1900s to 180lbs as of 2008!

There have been many well-conducted studies regarding the link between diet quality and mental health disorders.  Additionally, interest has been increasing in regards to the possible role that food allergies may play in schizophrenia and bipolar disorders.

So needless to say, what you eat has a profound effect on how you feel.

food-is-medicinePersonally, I notice a change in my mood when I don’t eat right.  If I skip a meal my blood sugar drops and I end up feeling dizzy and irritable.  On the other hand, if I eat take-out for lunch I feel bloated and sluggish all afternoon.

That is why I think it is very important to make every effort to find a way to include more fruits and vegetables in your daily diet.  And, to be honest, in today’s busy world, that can be tricky.  But don’t worry, there’s an easy solution!

Juicing

Juicing is a great way to add a wider variety or fruits and vegetable into your diet.  Not only is it efficient, but nutrients in juice form are easier for your body to absorb than in their natural (vegetable) form.

Never mind the added bonuses of increased energy, a boosted immune system, possible weight loss and better brain health!

juice-benefitsIf you’ve never juiced before, you might be thinking “yuck”, but I assure you I’ve tried more than a few recipes that have seriously surprised me.  My favorite place to get recipes is JuiceRecipes.com.  You can enter whatever ingredients you have in your fridge and it will give you a list of different juice recipes you can make with those ingredients (pretty genius).  I also have a great juicing book I keep next to my Juicer at home.

The Juicer itself can be quite an expense, but depending on your budget you can find one that suits you.  One of the most popular and efficient Juicers is the Breville JE98XL.  It’s not too expensive, works great and is much quieter than most.  I find that it extramean-greencts more juice from my veggies than a few others I’ve tried.

If you’re still on the fence, I urge you to watch the documentary Fat Sick & Nearly Dead.  It is inspiring, to say the least and has many life-changing juicing stories that will make you think and perhaps give you the push you need to try it out.

NOTE: While it may be quite easy to lean towards juicing mostly fruits, it is suggested that you try and focus on the ‘greens’.  They are the juices that have the most nutrients and health benefits.  One of my all-time favorite green juice recipes is Joe Cross’ Mean Green.
Enjoy!!

DISCLAIMER:  I am NOT promoting a 60 day juice-only diet.  I am simply suggesting you try juicing as a way to boost your fruit and veggie intake.  It does not have to be as a meal replacement.  If you have any medical conditions, I strongly suggest you talk to your doctor before you try any sort of juice ‘diet’.
Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

6 thoughts on “Food For The Brain: Mental Health And Nutrition

  1. Lovely to see a post about nutrition in this manner! 🙂 Gave me more motivation to write about the link between ‘bad food’ and mental health issues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

