Posted in depression, Mental Health, Recipe

Quick Healthy Breakfast For Weight Loss: Protein Breakfast Muffins

I’m pretty sure I’m not the only person who struggles with trying to eat a healthy breakfast – or just plain finding time to prepare one.  My mornings are just so busy I consider it a win if I leave the house fully clothed with hair and makeup done.  Bonus points if I don’t forget my lunch.  (Extra bonus points if my toddler doesn’t have food on her shirt.)

eat-a-skinny-person

Studies show that people who eat breakfast are more likely to successfully keep their weight off or lose weight than those who don’t.  That’s why I LOVE protein breakfast muffins.  They’re pretty much grab and go and they have 11g of protein per cup!

Protein Breakfast Muffins

Prep time: 10 minutes
Total time: 30 minutes
Makes: 12 cups
Serving size: 2 cups

Ingredients

  • img_7393
    Ready to start!

    3 cups rolled oats (gluten-free if necessary)

  • 3 scoops protein powder (about 29 grams each)*
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup plain 0% greek yogurt
  • 2 T coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 T hemp seeds
  • toppings: chocolate chips, blueberries, peanut butter etc…

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In a large bowl combine oats, protein powder, baking powder, cinnamon and sea salt.
  3. In a separate bowl combine eggs, vanilla extract, applesauce, greek yogurt, coconut oil, honey and almond milk.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir to combine.
  5. Grease a muffin pan very well with coconut oil.
  6. Divide batter evenly among muffin tin.
  7. Stir in toppings of choice into each one.**
  8. Sprinkle hemp seeds evenly across cups.
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes (mine took 18 minutes).
  10. Let cool for 20 minutes before removing to cool completely.
  11. Store in an airtight container on the counter for up to 5 days.
  12. *These freeze well. I take two out in the morning and microwave it for 20-30 seconds.

*I use Optimum Nutrition 100% Whey Gold Standard in either ‘Cake Batter’ or ‘Vanilla’ (but they have LOTS of other flavors if you aren’t a fan of those two).

img_7395
Turned out great!

 

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

4 thoughts on “Quick Healthy Breakfast For Weight Loss: Protein Breakfast Muffins

  1. When I was reading the recipe, I totally forgot that it contains ingredients for 12 muffins and I was in shock how can this be healthy. But yeah, have to try this. I’m off work tomorrow, so I will go give them a try 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

