Posted in Health, Recipe

Chaga Tea

I bought some Chaga at the market this weekend and was really anxious to try it.  When I got home last night I immediately put a chunk of it and some water in the slow cooker to steep over night.

Chaga is said to:aunti-oxidant
-stimulate and regulate the immune system
-reduce inflammation
-help with ulcers and gastritis
-support cholesterol and blood pressure levels
-fight against cancer
-be an antioxidant that has anti-aging properties

A little background

Chaga is a fungus which grows on yellow and white birch trees in Northern Canada, Siberia and Alaska.  It typically comes from trees that are 40 years or older.  And while most people think of mushrooms when they hear the word ‘fungus’, Chaga is somewhat different in that it has a hard burnt charcoal-colored exterior and a rust colored interior.

chaga-chunks

Chaga has documented use that dates back several thousand years.  Ancient Asian folk medicine practitioners relied upon it to balance their ‘Chi’ and promote longevity and health.  Also, it was widely used by Siberians in a variety of forms (from powders to tea) for health reasons as well.

How to prepare it

You will need the following:
food scale
slow cooker
Chaga chunks

Weigh 1.3 oz of Chaga per 12 cups of water.
Put the Chaga and water into the slow cooker on High until it’s almost boiling.
Reduce to medium or low and let steep 6 to 8 hours.

You can store your Chaga tea water in mason jars in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.  And each chunk of Chaga can be re-steeped (reused) up to 4 times!

Chaga Chai

For those who don’t like the earthy taste of Chaga tea, there are options!  You can make your very own Chaga Chai.

Combine:chaga-chai
~15g Chaga
~4g Ginger Powder
~4g Cinnamon Powder
~2g Star Anise Powder
~2g Cardamom Powder
~1g Cloves Powder

Measure and combine all of these into a bowl. Whisk together until you have a uniform and fine powder.

FOR THE TEA, bring equal parts water and milk to a boil, stir in 1/2-1 teaspoon of powder per cup. Reduce and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half, about 5 or 10 minutes. Stir in 1-2 teaspoons of honey per cup. Drink warm.

Chaga Coffee

Another quick and easy way to drink Chaga is to use it to make your coffee.  Bam!  Anti-oxidant packed coffee to start your day.

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

Leave a Reply

