Posted in Health, Physical Fitness

Diastasis Recti – Dos and Don’ts

As if carrying a child for 9 months and dealing with stretch marks wasn’t enough?!  (Not to mention the cravings and mood swings..)

We also have to worry about Diastasis Recti.  (Ok, not all of us do.)  Statistically, it happens to 2 out of 3 moms who’ve had 2 or more children.
And yay me!  I’m lucky enough to be one of those 2 out of 3 moms.

What is it?

DS diagram 2Diastasis Recti (also known as abdominal separation) is a gap of 2.7cm or more between the two sides of your rectus adnominal muscles (hence the name).

Will I get DR during my pregnancy?

While there’s no telling for sure, these are risk factors:
-you’ve carried multiples
-you’ve had multiple pregnancies
-you have a petite frame
-you were physically active most of your pregnancy
-you are over 35 years old
-you have sway back posture

How can I tell if I have DR?

It’s easy to perform a self-test for Diastasis Recti. Just lie on your back with your knees bent and feet on the floor. Put one hand on your belly, with your fingers on your midline at your navel. Press your fingertips down gently, and bring your head (shoulders stay on the ground) up into a mini crunch-like position. Feel for the sides of your rectus abdominal muscles, and see if and how far they are separated. Separation is commonly discussed in terms of finger widths — for instance, two or three (or more) fingers’ separation.

Okay now what?

Do’s Don’ts
-side planks
side plank
-pelvic tilts
pelvic tilts
-bird dogs
bird dogs
-heel slides
heel slide
-bent knee falls out
bent knee falls out
-crunches
crunch
-planks
plank
-twisting exercises
twisting
-back bends/spinal extensions
spinal extension
-heavy lifting
Helming Athletics

Exercise Schedule

So now that you know a few exercises designed to engage your core and help heal DR it’s time to put them to use.  Choose 2 or 3 and start with and do 10 repetitions each day.  As the days/weeks go by, increase your number of repetitions and add an exercise or two.

Here are two example weeks to give you an idea!

Week 1

Day 1

10 side planks
10 pelvic tilts
10 bird dogs

Day 2

10 side planks
10 pelvic tilts
10 bird dogs

Day 3

10 side planks
10 pelvic tilts
10 bird dogs

Day 4

10 side planks
10 pelvic tilts
10 bird dogs

Day 5

10 side planks
10 pelvic tilts
10 bird dogs

Week 2

Day 1

20 side planks
20 pelvic tilts
20 bird dogs
10  heel slides

Day 2

20 side planks
20 pelvic tilts
20 bird dogs
10  heel slides

Day 3

20 side planks
20 pelvic tilts
20 bird dogs
10  heel slides

Day 4

20 side planks
20 pelvic tilts
20 bird dogs
10  heel slides

Day 5

20 side planks
20 pelvic tilts
20 bird dogs
10  heel slides

Author:

Depression has been a fact of life for me for nearly 20 years now and I'm happy to say that I've finally started figuring out how to live with my demons. Today I have 3 kids, am in a stable relationship and have a (somewhat) normal relationship with my family. That's quite a feat considering some of the lows I've had and the things I've done when I was there. When I started this blog I wanted it to be mostly about depression and BPD, but as time went on I realized that I wanted it to be more than that. There are a lot of things that make me happy. And whatever makes me happy, in the end, contributes to a healthy life and mind. I don't have a grand plan. I just want to share my experiences in hopes that it inspires others to take control of their happiness. You are not alone! -XO Michelle

Leave a Reply

